Sunday, 19 November 2017

Star Trek: Discovery novels

Page created 19th November 2017. Last updated 7th February 2018.

This is list of novels based on Star Trek: Discovery; both the TV series and tie-in novel series began in 2017. So far two books have been announced, both are prequels to the main events of the TV series.

The books are released in the large trade paperback format, published by Gallery Books (part of Simon and Schuster), with audiobook releases by Simon and Schuster Audio, and German translations by Cross Cult.

The novels so far released or planned have had an unprecedented degree of coordination with the television production, thanks to Star Trek novelist Kirsten Beyer's role on the series' writing staff, and subsequently as tie-in fiction coordinator. Thanks to this, the first Discovery novel was released near simultaneously with the start of the TV series, and the novel authors have been able to co-ordinate with the TV writers so that the works written during in the development of the series avoid contraction and have the character voices firmly established - Indeed the works were so effectively coordinated that details developed for the novels were even adopted back into the TV production.

This list is in publication order.

Desperate Hours
  • Overview: Set a year before the TV series, this book features the crew of the USS Shenzhou, as well as the USS Enterprise under Captain Pike, as both ships try to solve a problem on a colony world. The book brings together Michael Burnham and Spock, giving in insight into their relationship, and also explains away some of the visual discontinuities between the TOS pilot episode aesthetic and that used in Discovery
  • Author: David Mack.
  • Published: September 2017.
  • Other editions:
  • Purchase: AmazonForbidden Planet, iTunes.

  • Overview: Set ten years before the TV series, this book features not-yet-captains Philippa Georgiou and Gabriella Lorca, and their involvement in the Tarsus IV massacre (an incident established in the TOS episode The Conscience of the King).
  • Author: Dayton Ward.
  • Published: February 2018.
  • Other editions:
  • Coverage: Excerpts.
  • Purchase: AmazonForbidden Planet, iTunes.

Fear Itself
  • Overview: A Saru focused novel set aboard the USS Shenzhou, more than a year before the TV series (and less than ten, probably less than seven as Michael Burnham features).
  • Author: James Swallow.
  • Published: June 2018.
  • Purchase: Amazon, iTunes.

No comments: