Sunday 8 May 2016

Star Trek: New Visions photo-comics

New Visions is a unique series of Star Trek: The Original Series comics created by John Byrne and published by IDW, starting in 2013. Each issue is painstaking created using stills from the television series, to create new episodes in comic-book form, using all the original actors, sets, props and more, exactly as they appear on-screen. The books are perfect bound, and also about twice the length of a typical comic, with each issue normally featuring a forty-two page story (a few have comic in slightly longer or shorter).

The series began as an experiment on Byrne's part, who set out to create a photo-comic adaptation of the first aired TOS episode, The Man Trap. Realising he had hit on something, Byrne then began to work on an original story, and soon enough IDW picked up the idea, with the first story published as a one-off annual (IDW's first Star Trek annual in fact). The series gained it's title in the second story, issue one of New Visions, although later reprints of the annual also used the New Visions title. New Visions became IDW's second ongoing Star Trek comic series (following the nuTrek series), and is released on a roughly bimonthly basis; although has been subject to frequent shuffling on the release schedule that has led to it not quite keeping up to that release frequency.

As the series has progressed so has Byrne's technique, while early issues typically used sets as available from screencaps, Byrne quickly began to expand his options by creating new CGI environments, ships, and even characters. Similarly his photo-manipulations have become ever more complex as he seeks to create unique scenes with characters and poses that do not exist straight from the screen. Occasionally Byrne has also made use of new photography to add in guest characters using new actors.

The list below is of all the New Visions issues, in release order. In addition to the individual issues, the second omnibus book of the series also features a bonus story, Eye of the Beholder, in which Captain Kirk visits both the Gold Key and TAS realities.

Annual: Strange New Worlds

#1: The Mirror, Cracked

#2: Time's Echo
  • Notes: A time travel story, in which the Enterprise crew discover the wreck of, the Enterprise! Also includes a second short story, Sweet Sorrow, featuring Janice Rand.
  • Published: August 2014.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase: Amazon.comiTunes

#3: Cry Vengeance
  • Notes: A sequel and origin story to The Doomsday Machine. Also includes a secondary story, Robot, featuring, as the title implies, a robot.
  • Published: October 2014.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase:, iTunes

#4: Made out of Mudd
  • Notes: A story featuring Harry Mudd, but in a very creative way due to likeness limitations. The Klingons also appear in both the main story, and the short secondary story, The Great Tribble Hunt.
  • Published: December 2014.
  • Coverage: Excerpt
  • Purchase:  

#5: A Scent of Ghosts
  • Notes: A multi-generational story guest staring Number One, and featuring the Enterprise's encounters with a large alien ship in both the Pike and Kirk eras. Also includes a second short story, Memorium, a The Motion Picture era tribute to the late Arlene Martel, aka T'Pring.
  • Published: December 2013.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase:, iTunes.  

#6: Resistance
  • Notes: A story featuring the Enterprise's encounter with a Borg Sphere!
  • Published: May 2015.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase: Amazon.comiTunes.  

#7: 1971/4860.2
  • Notes: A time travel story featuring Gary Seven, told in two parts from two points-of-view, each represented by half of the split title.
  • Published: July 2015.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase: Amazon.comiTunes

#8: The Survival Equation

#9: The Hollow Man

#10: Mister Chekov

#11: Of Woman Born

Special: The Cage

More of the Serpent Than the Dove
  • Notes: A sequel to Arena. Released exclusively via Humble Bundle, as a reward for higher donations to one of their Star Trek packages. The book also reprints issue one of Byrne's Leonard McCoy: Frontier Doctor series.
  • Published: September 2016 (Humble Bundle available to purchase in July 2016, the book being dispatched later).

#12: Swarm

#13: The Hidden Face
  • Published: December 2016.

#14: Sam
  • Published: February 2017.

#15: The Traveller
  • Published: April 2017.

#16: Time Out of Joint
  • Published: June 2017.

#17: All the Ages Frozen
  • Published: Ausgust 2017.

#18: What Pain it is to Drown

#19: The Hunger

#20: Isolation
  • Notes: A story which sees each of the main crew stranded alone on the Enterprise due to the interference of an alien. Features several cameos from guest characters from the TV series.
  • Published: February 2018.
  • Coverage: Excerpt.
  • Purchase: AmazonThings From Another WorldiTunesBarnes and Noble.

#21: The Enemy of My Enemy

#22: An Unexpected Yesterday

No comments: