Friday 26 February 2016

Star Trek stories by Greg Cox

Page created 26th February 2016. Last updated 1st April 2020.

This is a list of Star Trek stories written by Greg Cox, who has written Star Trek prose and shorter form fiction for all the prime Star Trek series except Enterprise and Discovery, although the majority of his work focuses on characters and settings from TOS and TNG. Cox's settings tend to be quite wide ranging, particularly his TOS stories, which have been set in almost all of the major eras from the TV and film series, as well dipping into other time periods; perhaps most notably his Eugenics Wars books set in the 20th century.

Cox was also going to be one of the authors of the first four adult novels set in the Kelvin timeline, having written a novel focused on Spock-prime in the new timeline, called the The Hazard of Concealing. Alas quite late in production all four of these books were cancelled (not before blurbs and preliminary covers were released however). Cox reused elements of his book later, in the TOS novel No Time Like the Past.

Outside of Star Trek Cox has written tie-in books for numerous other series, including Alias, CSI, and The 4400. He has also written novelisations of many movies and comic series.

The list below is of Cox's Star Trek stories, in all formats, presented in publication order.

Devil in the Sky
  • Notes: A DS9 novel featuring Horta, and Cox's first Star Trek book. Co-written by John Gregory Betancourt. This was the eleventh book in the DS9 numbered novel series.
  • Published: June 1995.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

Dragon's Honor
  • Notes: A TNG novel, co-written by Kij Johnson. This was the thirty-eighth book in the TNG numbered novel series.
  • Published: January 1996.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

The Black Shore
  • Notes: A Voyager novel, and Cox's first Star Trek book as a solo writer. This was the thirteenth book in the Voyager numbered novel series.
  • Published: May 1997.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

Assignment: Eternity
  • Notes: A TOS novel featuring Gary Seven. This was the eighty-fourth book in the TOS numbered novel series.
  • Published: January 1998.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

The Q Continuum
  • Notes: A TNG novel trilogy focused on Q, essentially telling his life story, and that of several other beings of extraordinary power. The three books, Q-Space, Q-Zone, and Q-Strike, were originally released as books forty-seven to forty-nine in the TNG numbered novel series, and were later published twice in omnibus form, in a hardcover edition from the Science Fiction Book Club, and a paperback edition in the Signature Edition series.
  • Published: 
    • Novels: August 1998 (Q-Space and Q-Zone), September 1998 (Q-Strike).
    • Omnibuses: January 1999 (hardcover), October 2003 (paperback).
  • Purchase:

Bedside Matters

Though Hell Should Bar the Way
  • Notes: A TOS short story featuring Captain April. Published in the anthology Enterprise Logs.
  • Published: June 2000.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

The Eugenics Wars: The Rise and Fall of Khan Noonien Singh, Volume One
  • Notes: First novel in a TOS duology bringing the Eugenics Wars and Khan Noonien Singh to life. This book was also released as an audiobook, narrated by Anthony Stewart Head.
  • Published: July 2001 (hardcover and audiobook), April 2002 (paperback).
  • Purchase:

The Eugenics Wars: The Rise and Fall of Khan Noonien Singh, Volume Two
  • Notes: Second novel in a TOS duology bringing the Eugenics Wars and Khan Noonien Singh to life. This book was also released as an audiobook, narrated by Rene Auberjonois.
  • Published: April 2002 (hardcover and audiobook), March 2003 (paperback).
  • Purchase:

Night of the Vulture
  • Notes: A DS9 era short story featuring (*), the being from the TOS episode Day of the Dove, which also appeared in Cox's Q Continuum novels. Published in the anthology Tales of the Dominion War.
  • Published: August 2004.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

To Reign in Hell: The Exile of Khan Noonien Singh
  • Notes: A TOS novel detailing the life of Khan Noonien Singh on Ceti Alpha V, effectively extending Cox's previous Eugencis Wars books into a trilogy covering Khan's life-story.
  • Published: January 2005 (hardcover), June 2006 (paperback).
  • Purchase:

The Worst of Both Worlds

Thinking of You
  • Notes: A TNG short story. Published in The Sky's the Limit, an anthology of short stories released to mark TNG's twentieth anniversary.
  • Published: October 2007.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

Work is Hard
  • Notes: A TNG Pakled-focused short story, published in the anthology Seven Deadly Sins.
  • Published: March 2010.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

The Rings of Time
  • Notes: A TOS five-year mission era time travel novel.
  • Published: February 2012.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

The Weight of Worlds
  • Notes: A TOS five-year mission era novel. The working title for this book was The Twilight Realm.
  • Published: April 2013. 
  • Purchase: Amazon.
No Time Like the Past
  • Notes: A TOS five-year mission era novel with Voyager time travelling crossover in the form of a temporally displaced Seven of Nine. Cox recycled some ideas from his cancelled Kelvin Timeline novel, The Hazard of Concealing, for this novel.
  • Published: March 2014. 
  • Purchase: Amazon.

Foul Deeds Will Rise

Child of Two Worlds
  • Notes: A Pike-era TOS novel.
  • Published: December 2015.
  • Purchase: Amazon.

  • Notes: TOS movie-era ebook novella, set on the USS Enterprise-A.
  • Published: February 2016.
  • Purchase: Amazon

Legacies, Book I: Captain to Captain
  • Notes: TOS novel, first book in the 50th anniversary Legacies trilogy. This book was also released as an audiobook, read by Robert Petkoff.
  • Published: July 2016.  
  • Purchase:
The Antares Maelstrom

A Contest of Principles

No comments: